Red Wine in Focus

Reading the papers, one is often told of a research that claims the consumption of some beverage boosts the well-being of people suffering from a health condition – such as diabetes.

As I suffer from Type 2 diabetes, I am now told that a glass of red wine with dinner may improve my heart health and keep me in better shape.

Well, as I am a sucker for most things likely to give me a psychological uplift, such good news, even if exaggerated, tends to make me more relaxed and assured in the belief that scientists, on the whole, should know what they are talking about.

Researchers tested two hundred and twenty-four patients, aged forty-five to seventy-four, who were usually teetotal. They were randomly assigned 150ml of mineral water, white wine or red wine to drink with their evening meal over a period of two years.

The Scientists, from Ben-Gurion University in Israel, found moderate consumption of red wine led to healthier fat levels in the blood – including more good cholesterol than bad. Some participants of the study, published in the Annals of Internal Medicine journal, whose bodies processed alcohol slowly, achieved better blood-sugar control from drinking red wine. But the same benefits were not seen with white wine, suggesting it is the compounds in red wine grapes, rather than alcohol, that is key.

I believe a glass of red wine – having owned a vineyard of my own in the Dordogne – must have some benefits, making your dinner more palatable in culinary terms and joyfully less mundane than usual.

Comments are closed.