Sleep in Old Age is the New Elixir

Whoever said that old age is fun should run to see a psychiatrist – and those who crave for retirement are equally living in cloud cuckoo land.

Age and retirement are factors with which I feel totally uncomfortable, for the simple reason that both rob you of the vitality of youth – although brainwise, in most cases, refutes the notion of having to accept that the body no longer functions efficiently and becomes languidly irritating.

Reading my Daily Telegraph recently, I came across an item that attracted my attention. As I am a beaver for knowledge, I learned a study has found that insomniacs and other problem sleepers are more sensitive to pain. Sensitivity was linked to how long it took to fall asleep, not length of sleep, the International Association for the Study of Pain said. Rates of reduced pain tolerance were fifty-two per cent higher for those who reported insomnia more than once a week, and twenty-four per cent higher for those with insomnia once a month.

In my youth and until my seventies it did not matter the time I went to bed for it took me less than ten minutes to fall into a deep sleep; however, in my eighties, although I go to bed usually at 9 pm and rise at 5 am, I now experience a struggle to switch off and fall asleep, sometimes tossing and turning for two hours.

As a result, my lower back, much too sensitive to pain, becomes inflamed and rather tetchy and on the rare occasions, when due to a hard working day at the office, I glide into a heavenly sleep the moment I hit the bedsheets, it is then that my lower back begins to feel the great benefit of a repose that mind and body must yearn for from time to time.

So oldies, take heed. Sleep and the love of women are the magic formula for keeping yourself in good nick – or at least making your life more interesting and, hopefully, worth its long duration.

For those cynics my message is of hope and should never be interpreted as a negation of life.

One response to “Sleep in Old Age is the New Elixir

  1. “So oldies, take heed. Sleep and the love of women are the magic formula for keeping yourself in good nick – or at least making your life more interesting and, hopefully, worth its long duration.”

    Absolutely agree – plus the addition of having an ‘interest’ – which, of course, for many, could be ‘work’

    NB. “…… in my eighties……….”