Thought for the Day

I have an inherent fear of catching a cold.

It has developed over the years into a chronic paranoia, since its intrusion into my disciplined life causes me great discomfort and leaves me lethargic and anti-social.

If I had the choice, I would rather be struck down by influenza – for it sends you direct to bed whether you like it or not. You feel definitely ill, and you amass what’s left of your energy to fight the virus. And furthermore it is a battle you sneakily enjoy winning.

Whereas with a cold you are mobile, you carry on as if you are in full health while the enemy within your system has a free ride to torment you and make your life as unpleasant as possible. Your nose is like a dripping tap made sore and unsightly. You avoid friends and suffer virtual imprisonment, and feel a kind of mild leprosy.

Since last weekend the cold bug has caused havoc to my every move. I feel a dejection that leads to a most unwelcome depression, and I constantly struggle to snap out of it.

So for those of you who don’t mind having a cold, please take mine and ask any reasonable favour in return.

2 responses to “Thought for the Day

  1. Hope you are feeling better soon.

  2. Joe Mankowitz

    Vitamin C + echinacea drops during the day, then zinc tablets at night.
    Next time, commence the regime at the first sign of a cold.

    As to ‘flu, go and get your jab next week, Habibi